The University Department of Computer Science

The University Department of Computer Science (UDCS) was established in 1978 with the help of University Grants , Commission Its first Head was Dr.M.V.Pitke, school of Physics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Dr.Pitke was Chairman of C-DOT Centre for the development of telecommunications in India whose chairman was Dr. Sam Pitroda, now Chairman of National Knowledge Commission The Department started with a Master's level programme in Computer Science MSc (Computer Science) . As the demand for computer education increased three diploma courses were added These were Diploma in Computer Programming (DCP) a after HSc part time 6 months courses, Diploma in computer software techniques (DCST) a part time post graduate course of 1 year duration and Diploma in computer software applications (DCSA) a full time post graduate course of 1 year duration After a few years a PhD course in Computer science was added A master level course M.S. in Digital Compositing and Visual effects. This course is being conducted in collaboration with University of Westminster, U.K. It is a two-semester course and is conducted simultaneously at UDCS and at Westminster University.

The other course is M. Phil in Computer Science to give a boost to research in Computer Science

The specializations handled by UDCS are

Employment Opportunities